noobnational.blogg.se

Webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm
Webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm








  1. Webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm for free#
  2. Webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm install#

UPDATE (): I just wanted to mention that the Garmin Express app comes with an auto-start feature.

Webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm install#

So if you want to update your Garmin’s OS before updating the map – and you really should – click the link, download and install Garmin Express, connect the GPS to your computer via USB and start Express. UPDATE (): Thanks to reader Joe, who pointed out that Garmin has retired their web browser plug-ins and has a new app you can use to update your unit: Garmin Express. You will be prompted to install an ActiveX plug-in, which will search for your GPS and report its software and map version info to Garmin’s site.

webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm

Then login to the site, attach your GPS to the USB cable and click the “Update” link. I actually recommend using Internet Explorer for this, because you’re going to need to install an ActiveX plug-in (Garmin’s site supports Chrome and Firefox, too, but you’ll need to restart those before continuing).Ĭreate an account on Garmin’s site if you haven’t already. The first thing you need to do is connect your GPS to your computer via USB cable and go to Garmin’s site. So I thought I’d elaborate a bit for people who still need instructions. I decided to take a look at this article, and found that the haklabs page I linked to in an earlier version of this post is gone. UPDATE (): I thought standalone GPS systems were all but dead, but looking at my site logs today I found that 20+ people visit this page every day. So I’ll keep using the Garmin for the foreseeable future. And I don’t have a windshield mount for my phone, either. But if I use my phone as a GPS driving aid, I can actually watch the battery drain. And although I would never, ever do this to my own GPS, I could, theoretically, report that Method 2, Part A on the linked page works like a charm on Nuvi 260W units. ( see updates below) But if you were the kind of person who isn’t opposed to that, all you need is some spare time, a computer, a Bittorrent client, a USB mini B cable and, most likely, a small (2 to 8GB) SD card.

webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm

I would never, ever recommend that you put an illegally hacked map on your GPS.

Webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm for free#

If you’re still rocking a Garmin GPS unit, you might not know that updating the maps for free is amazingly easy. But now that you can buy a whole new (refurbished) unit for only $10 more than a map upgrade… why bother? $50 didn’t seem like much back when a GPS cost $700. This makes paying $49.99 for a map upgrade seem like a losing proposition. I wouldn’t call standalone GPS units “disposable”… but nowadays you can buy entry-level Garmin car units for as little as $89.99, and refurbished units can be had for as little as $59.95.










Webupdater garmin nuvi 2555lm